This tutorial will guide you through blocking people on Facebook.
Whatever the reason – a stalker, an ex – just someone you don’t want to have any contact with – you can quite easily cut them out of your Facebook life. Follow the steps outlined below to do so.
It’s important to note this up front – by blocking someone you are not 100% completely blocking absolutely every possibly interaction on Facebook with that person. As Facebook explains:
If you block someone, they will not be able to find you in a Facebook search, see your profile, or interact with you through Facebook channels (such as Wall posts, Poke, etc.). Any Facebook ties you currently have with a person you block will be broken (for example, friendship connections, Relationship Status, etc.). Note that blocking someone may not prevent all communications and interactions in third-party applications, and does not extend to elsewhere on the Internet.
It’s also worth mentioning that when you block someone, not only will they not be able to see what “you’re doing” on Facebook – you won’t be able to see what they’re doing either. It is a two-way block.
- First up, sign in to your Facebook account. Towards the upper-right corner, hover your cursor over the Settings link. A little ‘drop-down’ menu will appear. Click Account Settings
- Click the manage link in the Privacy section of your settings page.
- Enter the name of the person you want to block in the Person field. Alternately, you can enter their email address in the Email filed, but you’ll need to know exactly which email address they have associated with their Facebook account. Now click the Block button.
- If the name you entered matches more than one person, a list will appear displaying all of the possible matches. Locate the person you want to block, and click the Block button.
- If at any point you want to remove this block, return to your Account Settings page, and click the remove link next to the blocked person.