How to Disable Location Information in Your iPhone Photos

by Ross McKillop on October 8, 2013

iPhone Security

This very brief tutorial will show you how to disable the GPS information that’s attached to the photos you take on your iPhone, and why you may want to.

If you followed the iPhone setup without paying very close attention and reading all the fine print, it’s very likely that you enabled (which is the default) Location Services for your Camera App. What you may not know is that by doing so, when you send your iPhone photos to other people, you’re including the Location Services data (GPS EXIF data) that’s attached to (inside) the file. This means anyone can determine the exact location the photo was taken – right down to the longitude, latitude and altitude. This tutorial explains EXIF Data in a bit more detail, and also how to remove it from any/all photos and/or image files.

If you’d like to simply disable the feature entirely, so that the exact location your iPhone photos were taken is no longer embedded in the file itself – just follow these simple steps.

  1. Start out by tapping the Settings button on your iPhone.
  2. Select Privacy from the Settings menu.
  3. Now select Location Services from the Privacy menu.
  4. Locate the Camera App in the list of Apps that use the Location Services feature. Swipe from right to left on the toggle button to Disable the Location Services feature for your Camera App.
  5. Confirm that the toggle switch is now set to ‘Off’
  6. That’s it! From now on, the photos you take with the Camera App (this does NOT include 3rd party iPhone camera Apps downloaded from the App Store) – will not have GPS EXIF data attached to them.