How To Add Secure Browsing (HTTPS) to Twitter

We previously covered how to add https to your Facebook account for better security. Earlier it was announced that Twitter has set up a similar feature for its service and here’s how to enable it in Settings.

1. Log into your Twitter account and click the dropdown menu for your profile and click on Settings.

sshot-2011-03-16-[16-00-33]

2. Then under you Account Settings scroll down and check the box next to Always use HTTPS and make sure you click Save after that.

sshot-2011-03-16-[16-01-34]

3. After clicking Save, you’ll be prompted to re-enter your Twitter password then click on Save Changes.

sshot-2011-03-16-[16-02-25]

4. At the top of the screen you should see a message that your settings have been successfully saved.

sshot-2011-03-16-[16-03-11]

5. Now anytime you log into your Twitter account you’ll see HTTPS before in the URL in the address bar.

sshot-2011-03-16-[16-04-21]

This will help protect your Twitter sessions, especially when you’re using a public Wi-Fi Network. Unlike the Facebook HTTPS flaw, your session will always be protected no matter where you go while logged into Twitter.

However keep in mind if you’re using a 3rd-party Twitter client, it may not support HTTPS. If you use the Official Twitter clients for iPhone, iPad, and iPad touch – you are protected.

Check out the official Twitter blog post for more on the HTTPS feature.

1 thought on “How To Add Secure Browsing (HTTPS) to Twitter”

  1. This is just what I need. As an avid Twitter user (I can’t live without Twitter and twitting at least 1 post an hour) I need a secure connection. Many Twitter accounts have been targeted, attacked, and hacked these past days. Just last month, Lady Gaga’s account fell victim to a sinister attack. The system used was the same with Facebook’s – users will have to click a link to watch a video.

    When the link is clicked, a fake YouTube webpage will then appear. Of course, users were enticed to click the Play button, which of course was a big mistake because it launched an application that sent spam messages (with the same video link) to all of the user’s followers.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *